Phi Theta Kappa Fall Induction Ceremony

Category: Students


Melfa, VA – Twenty-two Eastern Shore Community College students were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society Thursday, November 7, at a special ceremony.   Students inducted were: Leah Abraham, Carlton Byrd, Alexus Cardoza, Alejandro Cornejo, Tayshia Daugherty, Gloria Diaz, Braden Finney, Andrew Hrusth, Doris Kellam, Brooke LeCato, Savannah Manske-East, Samantha Marsh, Alexsandria Myers, Gwendolyn Poore, Holly Rasmussen, Dana Smith, Quintara Smith, Cole Spence, Joshua Taylor, Scarlet Turner, Alison White and Eric White.  Dr. Linda Thomas-Glover served as the guestspeaker.

 The students chosen for membership are recognized for their academic excellence and must have at least a 3.25 GPA (grade point average) to be considered.  Chapter advisor, Robin Rich-Coates, commented, “I am proud of the students and their accomplishments.  They have worked so hard to achieve excellence in academics, leadership and service to their communities.”

Phi Theta Kappa, founded in 1918, serves 12,200 two year-colleges around the world.  The Society’s operations are global in scope with chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada and Germany.  Nearly 1.5 million have accepted membership in Phi Theta Kappa sinceits founding, with almost 100,000 members inducted each year.

CAPTION FOR PICTURE:  Fall 2013 PTK Inductees.Front Row: L to R: Doris Kellam, Quintara Smith, Scarlet Turner, Gwen Poore, Alexsandria Myers, and Brooke LeCato.  Second Row: Andrew Hrusth, Gloria Diaz, Savannah Manske-East, Holly Rasmussen, Dana Smith, and Tayshia Daugherty. Back Row: Alexus Cardoza, Braden Finney, Joshua Taylor, Carlton Byrd, and Leah Abraham.

 # # #


Tags: Greek