ESCC Philanthropists Honored


Chancellor’s Awards for Leadership For Newman and Landsberger

Richmond –Roberta Newman of Cape Charles and David Landsberger of Chincoteague have received the Chancellor’s Award for Leadership in Philanthropy. Ms. Newman was honored for 2020 and Mr. Landsberger for 2021. They both were nominated for the award by YOUR Eastern Shore Community College. 

The awards were presented at a luncheon ceremony in Richmond on Thursday April 21st, 2022. 

The annual event, hosted by the Virginia Foundation for Community College Education (VFCCE), honors leading philanthropists from each of Virginia’s 23 community colleges as well as the statewide foundation. Recipients are nominated for their outstanding commitment to the growth and development of Virginia’s community colleges and their respective foundations.

This year’s class of distinguished philanthropy leaders has collectively contributed $10 million dollars to Virginia’s Community Colleges.

ESCC President Dr. Jim Shaeffer remarked, “Roberta has given tirelessly as past Chair of our Foundation Board of Directors and to the Eastern Shore community through her leadership of Smart Beginnings. Her passion for serving those who are underserved embraces one of the most important cornerstones of ESCC. Her thoughtful leadership style and attention to detail have brought well needed structure to our Board and helped our Foundation and College grow.  She is most deserving of this recognition for ESCC’s 2020 Leader in Philanthropy.” 

For the 2021 recognition, Shaeffer shared that “David has been a longtime supporter of Eastern Shore Community College.  He has funded our building project, numerous scholarships and other initiatives, as well as laptops for our students during the pandemic.  David’s vision and support have helped to change lives and create career pathways at ESCC.  Put simply, David is a great friend of the college and is always there when we need support.”

(L-R) ESCC Foundation Director Patty Kellam, ESCC President Jim Shaeffer, David and Melody Landsberger.

Among the numerous VIPs on-hand for the luncheon were Chancellor Glenn DuBois, State Senator Ghazala Hashmi, Anne Holton, former Virginia Secretary of Education, and professor of Education Policy at George Mason University, and Dr. Stewart Roberson, past chair of the VFCCE. Dr. Bill Hazel, Jr., former secretary of Health and Human Resources, was the event’s keynote speaker.