ESCC Phi Theta Kappa Introduces New 2019 Inductees

Category: Students


Thursday, April 11, 2019, the Alpha Pi Chi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) welcomed 28 new members with an Induction Ceremony held in the Great Hall of the ESCC Workforce Development Services Center on campus in Melfa.
PTK is an honor society for two-year college students worldwide, symbolizing excellence in higher education. The American Association of Community Colleges has designated PTK the official honor society for two-year colleges. It currently stands as the largest Honor Society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.  More information is available at

Following a procession of inductees, co-advisors Christina Duffman and Josh Taylor welcomed the audience of faculty, staff, and family members with opening remarks. Celebrated former chapter advisor Robin Rich-Coates served as the keynote speaker, sharing thoughts and observations from her years as a student and teacher, and the impact PTK has had on her continued quest to learn.

Image of the new 2019 PTK Inductees.

Introducing the new 2019 PTK Inductees.

Club Treasurer Robbie Meek provided instrumental guitar background music as new members were introduced and signed in to the chapter.  This portion of the ceremony was also overseen by Vice President Shawn Collins, and Secretary Victoria Pruitt in addition to the co-advisors.  Interim College President Billy Greer offered a closing benediction, before greeting new members and inviting guests to stay for a reception in honor of the growing chapter.

New members inducted included: Hunter Annese, Duncan Brown, Angelique Bryan, Claire Burns, Gabriel Burns, Whitney Coulbourne, Alice Devansky, Luis Diaz-Ortiz, Jacob Evans, Erica Garcia, Anthony Giannini, Amber Gordon, Fidel Guerrero, Taylor Heath, Brandon Justice, Crystal Kellenberger, Kierra Kingsbury, Caleb Laxton, Jessica LeCato, Samuel Longstreet, Adriana Lopez, Shaw Matthews, Tex McFaden, Alesha Moore, Michelle Pino, Victoria Pruitt, Isabella Sayers, and Matthew Tyler.

Tags: Greek